Recent changes to Alabama law establish stricter requirements for SECONDARY METALS RECYCLERS.
Act 2012-426* requires SECONDARY METALS RECYCLERS (as defined by the law) to:
Register with the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center (ACJIC) within 30 days of Aug. 1, 2012.
To submit specific sales-related information to a statewide database maintained by the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center (ACJIC) beginning January 1, 2013 no later than 9:00 p.m. on the day of a purchase transaction.
All information reported by secondary metals recyclers pursuant to this section shall be considered to be confidential and privileged
and exempt from disclosure under Code of Alabama 1975, Section 41-13-1. Any person who intentionally violates the requirements
of this section shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor for the first offense; a Class A Misdemeanor for the second offense; and a
Class C felony for a third or subsequent offense within a ten (10) year period.
We are currently working on interfaces to Scrap Software applications. If you require an interface from your existing scrap application, please e-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org and include the name of your application and if possible, their company’s contact information.
Welcome to the Alabama Secondary Metals Recyclers System maintained by the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center (ACJIC).
In accordance with Alabama law (13A-8-31.2), Secondary Metals Recyclers are required to register with, and to pay a $250 annual registration fee to, ACJIC to maintain the database of certain information collected by metal recyclers related to the purchase of metal products. Alabama law also requires Secondary Metals Recyclers to submit specific sales-related information into this online database maintained by ACJIC no later than 9:00 p.m. on the day of the purchase transaction.
You may complete this process online (paying by credit card) or by calling ACJIC if you wish to pay by check.
If you registered with ACJIC during the previous year, please utilize the USER NAME and PASSWORD created during this process to access the system.
If you wish to renew your registration and pay by check, please call the ACJIC Support Center at 1-800-392-8025.